Can you run over the catcher in high school baseball

Can You Run Over the Catcher in High School Baseball?

Ever heard of home plate collisions? Home plate clashes can make the game even more exciting and thrilling. This particular part of the high school game raises a few questions in mind. Can you run over the catcher in high school baseball? This question is one of the frequent questions that get asked.

Let’s imagine a scenario to understand better. You’re about to hit the ball and your team is just one run far from victory. Now, you have an opportunity to become a hero by hitting a home run. But catchers are making sure to make you lose. Now you’re running toward home plate but there’s a strong chance to have a collision with the catcher. How to avoid it? Is it allowed to run over the catcher in high school baseball?

Let’s have detailed insight into the rule book of high school baseball. Doing so allows you to be aware of the question. Let’s clear all doubts.

Can You Run Over the Catcher in High School Baseball?

Here we are talking about high school baseball. There are a lot of rules and regulations that differ from the international baseball world. In high school baseball, runners and catchers can indulge in heat-up moments.

  • Pro Tip

Runners try to score a home run and even run toward home plate. On the other hand, catchers do their best to keep runners from scoring and getting bases. Not only this, the catcher, sometimes, blocks the home plate path to make the runner lose. This all can get pretty heated. 

So, talking about the rules of high school baseball. It’s not allowed to intentionally run over the catcher to score a run. If such an incident does happen, the runner will be called out for colliding with the catcher to run a score. But, still, there’re exceptions regarding home plate collisions.

Under What Situations Runner Can Run Over the Catcher?

Well! It’s not allowed to score a run by jumping over the catcher in high school baseball. But there are few circumstances during a game where a runner can run over the catcher. Following are a few situations:

  • The runner can run over the catcher if the catcher is not paying attention or not trying to control the scoring.
  • Also, if the catcher is trying to dodge the runner by blocking the home plate without the ball. Then it’s safe for runners to run over the catches.
  • Furthermore, if the catcher doesn’t have the ball or drops the ball, the runner can have a collision to score a run.
Can You Run Over the Catcher in High School Baseball?

Rules Analyzation

The National Federation of State High School Association (NFHS) is the association that provides guidelines and rules for high school baseball. According to NFHS, there is a rule that states, “any runner is out when he initiates malicious contact”.

Here, jumping or running over the catcher is certainly considered a malicious constant. So, in normal circumstances, running over the catcher can cost you the game. So, it’s better to avoid such incidents.

Can Catcher Block the Home Plate?

Yes, a catcher can block the home plate but only under one condition. If the catcher has the ball in his hand, only then he has permission to block the home plate. Otherwise, he can’t do such an act. 

A catcher with no ball in his possession has no right to block the plate and prevent the runner from scoring a run. This rule is solely implemented to keep the runner safe from unwanted collisions or clashes. 

Can Catcher Block the Home Plate?

Sometimes, catchers try to block the plate without having the ball. Such action from the catcher allows the runner to get an awarded run. In addition to that, there’s a chance that the catcher can be called off for obstruction.

Running Over the Catcher – Famous Incidents

I’m about to share a couple of famous run-over-the-catcher incidents that happened during the baseball game. Baseball history has a lot of home plate collision incidents that ended up getting famous. 

  • Do you know?

In 2011, Scott Cousins, a runner, ran into a home plate collision with Buster Posey, the all-star catcher. This home plate collision incident was one of the most dangerous collisions. Since it caused serious injury to Buster Posey. His leg got broken which made him less impactful on the field. After this collision, the home plate playing rule got changed. 

In 2006, another collision incident happened between Micheal Barrett and AJ Pierzynski. Nobody got hurt but aggression from both sides made this incident famous. 

You can certainly find a lot more running over the catcher incidents if you look back. A lot of them did some destruction to both parties.

Frequently Asked Question

Yes, it’s okay to jump over the catcher. It’s only allowed when the catcher is already on the ground. According to the rule, “jumping, hurdling and leading are legal to avoid the fielder as long as the fielder is on the ground already”. Any other situation can go wrong for the runner.

Yes, the rule of not running over the catcher does apply to other positions as well. Any malicious contact with the fielder is not allowed in the baseball high school game. 

No, the catcher can’t block the home plate without the ball. It’s illegal to do so. If he still does, it’ll end up rewarding an extra run to the runner. 

This rule is in place to protect the runner from a hard collision. Also, it’ll provide an unfair edge or advantage to the catcher. 

Yes, home plate collisions do cause serious injuries. It’s better to avoid such incidents to happen. 


Baseball comes with different rules and regulations for different levels of games. The same rule can’t be applicable on two different levels. So, it’s important to have proper information about your game. 

The same goes with running over the catcher rules, it’s just not allowed to do so in high school baseball. Otherwise, you can lose the game in a bad way.

Moreover, infringing this rule can cause removal from the game or even being called out. So, be careful if you’re a runner position on the first base trying to score runs. So, to answer the question. Can you run over the catcher in high school baseball? The simple answer is, no, you can’t.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *